Posts Tagged ‘SCribe Award’

On Being Named a Grandmaster…

IAMTW Logo on Blue Background

Over the weekend, the International Association of Media Tie-in Writers (IAMTW) issued press releases announcing the nominees for its 2022 Scribe Awards (a list that includes my novel Star Trek: Coda, Book III: Oblivion’s Gate in the Best Novel-Speculative category) and its 2022 Faust Award, which recognizes outstanding career achievement in the writing of media tie-in works by naming the recipient a Grandmaster.Star Trek Coda, Book 3, Oblivion's Gate, by David Mack

Much to my surprise, I was told late on Saturday night after a long day of driving home from vacation with my wife that I had been named as the IAMTW’s 2022 Grandmaster.

Part of me thinks, “How can I be getting this award?” and “Might this have been a clerical error?”

Then the other part of my brain shushes the insecure half and whispers, “Relax, it’s not a mistake.”

It feels strange to receive an award honoring my “career achievement” when I still consider my career as a work-in-progress. But I imagine that’s also how past recipients of the award have felt. Most of them — including my friends and fellow Star Trek scribblers Greg Cox, Keith R. A. DeCandido, Kevin J. Anderson, and Peter David — went right on working after winning the Faust Award. Which is exactly as it should be.

As writers we all learn not to rest on our laurels. Experience teaches us not to dwell on the work we’ve done, much of which takes months or sometimes years to be published after our share of the work is done. By necessity we are always looking ahead, beyond the project we’re writing now, and asking, “What am I doing next? And after that?”

No award changes that, but I have to admit it feels good to be recognized among such luminous company as the previous recipients of the Faust Award. Who wouldn’t want to share such an honor with Timothy Zahn, Alan Dean Foster, Diane Duane, Ann C. Crispin, Donald Bain, Nancy Holder, Terrance Dicks, William Johnston, Jean Rabe, and the venerable Max Allan Collins?

It would be the height of hubris to claim I earned this honor all by myself. I have come as far as I have only thanks to the support and encouragement of my wife, Kara; the wise business counsel of my agent of 20 years, Lucienne Diver; the camaraderie of my many peers and fellow travelers, including (but certainly not limited to) Dayton Ward, Kevin Dilmore, Glenn Hauman, Aaron Rosenberg, James Swallow, Scott Pearson, Kirsten Beyer, and John Jackson Miller; the abiding faith of editors Ed Schlesinger, Margaret Clark, and Marco Palmieri; and those wonderful folks out there who have been buying and enjoying my stories for the past twenty-odd years. My love and respect goes out to you all.

What else is there to say, really?

Time to get back to work.


More Beautiful Than Death nominated for Scribe Award

I’m happy to share the news that the judging panel of The International Association of Media Tie-In Writers has nominated my Star Trek (Kelvin Universe) novel MORE BEAUTIFUL THAN DEATH for a Scribe Award in the Best Original Novel – Speculative category.

This is always a hotly contested category, featuring excellent works by some of the industry’s best tie-in novelists. This year is no different.

In addition to works by James Lovegrove and Greg Keyes, my book shares space in that category with two other Star Trek novels, both written by very talented friends of mine: Star Trek: DiscoveryDIE STANDING by John Jackson Miller and Star Trek: AGENTS OF INFLUENCE by Dayton Ward.

This really is a case of “it’s an honor just to be nominated.”

This is my 8th nomination in the Scribe Awards and my 7th in the Best Original Novel – Speculative category.

I’ve won the Scribe Award twice: Best Original Novel – General for 24: ROGUE, and Best Original Novel – Speculative for Star Trek: TNGCOLLATERAL DAMAGE.

Other friends of mine on this year’s list of Scribe Awards finalists include Monica Valentinelli and Christie Golden (in the Short Fiction category), Mike Johnson (Graphic Novel), James Swallow (Best Original Novel – General), and Matt Forbeck (in the YA/MG category).

Learn more about The Scribe Awards and this year’s nominees at the link:

Also, if you’d be so kind, please nominate More Beautiful Than Death for this year’s Dragon Awards, in the Best Media Tie-in category. It’s free to sign up and to vote, but nominations close July 19, 2021.


Collateral Damage wins a Scribe Award

I’m pleased to share that my Star Trek: The Next Generation novel Collateral Damage has won a Scribe Award in the category of Best Original Novel – Speculative Fiction. It shares the win in a tie vote with the Batman novel The Court of Owls, written by my good friend Greg Cox.

The Scribe Awards are bestowed annually by the International Association of Media Tie-in Writers (IAMTW) to recognize excellence in the field of media tie-in publishing.

It’s an honor to share this award with my longtime friend Greg. I want to thank my editor on Collateral Damage, Margaret Clark, for her help in shaping the book; my agent Lucienne Diver for shepherding the business side of my work; the judges and organizers of the Scribe Awards; and my readers most of all.

Collateral Damage is my sixth work to be nominated for a Scribe Award, and my second title to win an award (my novel 24: ROGUE won the award for Best Original Novel – General Fiction in 2016). Here’s hoping it won’t be the last.


ROGUE wins a Scribe Award!

ROGUE_ScribeAwardI just got some really unexpected and wonderful news from my friend Glenn Hauman.

He just accepted an award on my behalf, for Best Original Novel, General Fiction, which was bestowed upon my novel 24: Rogue by the judges of the International Association of Media Tie-in Writers10th Annual Scribe Awards.

The press release with information about all the winners is included below. Let me extend my thanks to the IAMTW, the Scribe judges, my editor Melissa Frain at Tor Books, and my good friends James Swallow and Dayton Ward — the latter of whom also takes home a Scribe tonight! Woo-hoo!


The Tenth Annual Scribe Awards Winners

The International Association of Media Tie-In Writers is thrilled to announce the Scribe Award Winners for 2016.
IAMTW thanks everyone who sent entries, all wonderful, for consideration. Congratulations to the following nominees. Added congratulations to the winners in blue below.

Elementary:The Ghost Line by Adam Christopher
Kill Me, Darling by Mickey Spillane & Max Allan Collins
Don Pendleton’s Mack Bolan: Desert Falcons by Michael A. Black
24: Rogue by David Mack

Deadlands: Ghostwalkers by Jonathan Maberry
HALO: Last Light by Troy Denning
HALO: New Blood by Matt Forbeck
Pathfinder: Forge of Ashes by Josh Vogt
Shadowrun: Borrowed Time by R. L. King
Star Trek The Next Generation: Armageddon’s Arrow by Dayton Ward
Star Trek Seekers 3: Long Shot by David Mack

Backcountry by D. E. McDonald
Batman: Arkham Knight by Marv Wolfman
Crimson Peak by Nancy Holder
MANOS ­­­– The Hands of Fate by Stephen D. Sullivan
Star Wars: Dark Disciple by Christie Golden

Mike Hammer The Strand “Fallout” by Mickey Spillane and Max Allan Collins
Shadowrun: World of Shadows “Swamp of Spirits” by Jason M. Hardy
The X-Files: Trust No One “Back in El Paso My Life Will Be Worthless” by Keith R. A. DeCandido
The X-Files: Trust No One “Dusk” by Paul Crilley
The X-Files: Trust No OneNon Gratum Anus Rodentum” by Brian Keene
The X-Files: Trust No One “Statues” by Kevin J. Anderson

Dark Shadows “Bloodlust” by Alan Flanagan, Will Howells and Joseph Lidster
Dark Shadows “In the Twinkling of an Eye” Penelope Faith
Doctor Who “The Red Lady” by John Dorney
Doctor Who “Damaged Goods” by Jonathan Morris
Pathfinder Legends: “Mummy’s Mask: Empty Graves” by Cavan Scott